The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Early Christmas cards

...were quite frightening or bizarre. They're all over the internet (just Google Victorian Christmas cards to see more) but I knew nothing about them until I attended a zoom lecture. (Have I mentioned Rest Less Events before? If not, it's brilliant! It used to be called Mirthy, but the owner sold it to Rest Less. It's a series of online events, including concerts, classes and illustrated  lectures that viewers can access unlimited for a single small monthly fee, or on a pay-as -you-go basis. I discovered it when I had CoVid, and it proved invaluable during days of convalescence. Informercial over. I don't get paid, honestly, but maybe I should become an affiliate. Not on blipfoto, though).

This lecture was called Nightmares before Christmas, and featured many scary Christmas cards, which included pictures of dead robins as well as mice dining on a roasted cat. The one above is a representation of the devil/Krampus, who accompanied father Christmas on his rounds on St Nicholas' day in many part of Europe. Indeed, I have discovered that there is a Krampus run somewhere in Bavaria, where people dress as hairy devils and run through the streets. Another travel idea for next December? I already have an invitation to Bremen, in Northern Germany, which is way nearer than the Rhineland! I can even fly there via that lovely blue-and-yellow airline. 

Work is emotionally exhausting. We are firefighting. I am on my own on a Thursday now, and trees were being cut down in the grounds of the adjacent school. Noisy? Just a little. However, we had a pre-Christmas lunch, complete with Secret Santa, and gift vouchers from Management. That definitely lightened the tone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.