The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

From my desk

Today saw my return to work. It was genuinely good to see my colleagues again (we are only together as a team of three for half a day a week now) and we had a useful meeting with our new manager. The card above was given to my colleague. We don't often get cards, presents or thankyous in our line of work, so we steal chocolates from reception, and treasure the few cards and compliments that come our way.

I wish I could bring you a still from the wonderful concert I attended, The Unthanks in Winter, but there was a strict embargo on photography and recording, as the album has not been laid down yet and the show will tour again next year. They can come back to Stroud! I haven't seen Rachel Unthanks perform since 2008, when she was with the Winterset. For those they don't know, the two sisters perform traditional Northumbrian folk songs and other songs, accompanied by their band and a great diversity of musical styles. The winter show was also what I'd call a spectacle. The band has always been self-managed. Rachel's 2008 album, The Bairns, won a 200 Folk Award, and still sounds fresh today. All in all, the show was two hours of musical bliss. 

Afterwards, I said goodbye to my friend SA and walked home. Something's gone wrong with my knees after sitting for so long on the coach to/from Germany and the long uphill walk was very painful. I must double my dose of HLA Complex. I'm too young for this malarkey! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.