KateH

By KateH

Winter

I like that point in the year when the last few tattered leaves have dropped and you can see the bones of the tree.  This one is up on the edge of the wood and I realise I am not sure what it is.  I don’t think it’s native.   

A mild grey day today but largely dry thank goodness.  I started with Pilates in MIdhurst and then came home to do some Christmas cards and hang out with V before he left for New York.  After he’d gone Woody and I went for a good walk in the woods.   Then an afternoon round the house starting on the Christmas tree and planting shop bought bulbs into nice dishes and topping them with moss from the garden.  

Went to dinner at Rachel’s    She only lives a 100 yards up the lane but it was muddy and dark so I went in wellies changing into pretty slippers in the house. Rachel cooked the kind of amazing slow cooked leg of lamb that works well in an aga and a  delicious slightly chewy apple cake.  Long voice note from Rory who is back at the hotel where he feels a bit safer and no longer sharing a room with the fixer who by all accounts has a powerful snore.  He’s learned to always travel with ear plugs at least. 

And a moment of remembrance for Dad whose birthday it would have been today.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.