ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Capercaille.

Pentax K1000, Silver Halide 35mm, ISO 400.

A lie-in today, we were both shattered after tennis and golf yesterday. I made a nice breakfast; bagels and boiled eggs with smoked salmon, which set us up nicely to a walk up Bennachie. We got the best window of weather for it - a break in the cloud and rain that lasted for almost exactly as long as it took us to hike up and back down. We made it in 1 hour and 40 minutes. I know some people run it, but for us that was good! I ran off a few photos at the top of the snow/hail/rain clouds moving in, but when we got to the bottom, this female Capercaille was waiting for us in the car park. The staff from the Bennachie Centre were eating their lunch outside and told us she'd been hand-reared, so was nearly tame. She let me get very close, and was relaxed enough to lie down while I took some photos. Manual focussing was an issue for me; even more so when coupled with fast-changing light conditions as she moved through shade and light in the forest. I was so pleased with this one, but what a shame I only had mono film in the camera - she was a beautiful colour.

We headed off to Gadie's for a hugely disappointing lunch - M's burger was so raw he had to send it back. My sandwich was very bland. Still, they took the burger off the bill and gave us free cake and coffee, so it wasn't all bad! We headed home via the supermarket where I got a few photos developed from a colour film (I'm definitely more of a B&W fan when it comes to 35mm), which I'll back-blip later. When we got home, I made dinner and we just sunk into the sofa. It's been a really active weekend, and we're both shattered with sore muscles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.