A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Haworth at Christmas

Never miss my visit to Haworth in the Christmas season, always associated with my childhood Christmases. To day was dry and I thought some fresh air would be good.

Walked up the cobbled Main Street enjoying the decorated businesses and houses, but being a Tuesday many were closed but thank fully Cobbles and Clay was open and we managed to get a table for coffee and cake (or mince pie). 
Many tables were reserved and some were occupied by families painting pottery which you can do here ( Wilsden Walker is always doing it!) but we got a table for two upstairs. Surprisingly I’ve never been upstairs so it was the first time I’ve seen this lovely ceramic quote from Charlotte Bronte*. The letters are presumably all hand painted and the parts of the walls are covered in hand painted tiles.

It was very warm walking up the hill and in the cafe so I nipped into the ladies to remove my vest! When we came out into the street the cloud had lifted to some emerging blue sky but there had been a distinct shift in temperature too, much cooler, needed that vest back on!

* If you don’t know Haworth it us the home of the Bronte sisters in their adult lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.