Grammy

By Grammy

Our Day…

…started at 5:00 am. Hubby had to be at the surgery center at 6:00. It was 27°F but we were hardly outside for a few minutes. He had local anesthesia so once the doc was done, I helped him redress and headed home. We were on the recliners ready for a nap by 7:45. Instead of sleeping, I deleted hundreds of unneeded photos off my phone so it will start backing up again. My sister called to see if we could visit our other sister earlier than planned, so we did. Barbara has been in and out of the hospital with broken bones several times this year mostly from falls so she doesn’t go out much now. We bought her some Christmas movies and popcorn to enjoy during the holidays. Since it was almost lunch time, we grabbed pizza and a Danish and shared it with her and her hubby. They loved the movies and seemed happy to have visitors. Towards the end of the visit, our mother called to say her dishwasher was leaking. Now we wonder if her problem could have been a hose issue. My sister and BIL headed down to investigate. My granddaughter wrote and asked me to pray for her aunt who is my daughter’s age. Her cancer has returned; so scary. Hubby’s numbing drugs had worn off so he was ready to go home and elevate his hand. I put up the remaining decorations and carried the empty boxes upstairs. We’ll rearrange all the boxes and put everything back in our attic room once he can lift again. In my younger days, I’d be freaked out by the boxes being in our hallway but in my old age wisdom, I’ve learned that is totally unimportant. Taking care of the sick, visiting family, calming the worried, praying for those in need, etc. are how we should spend our time. And celebrating with the young. Brooklyn’s 13th birthday is today. She’s been out celebrating and stopped by to get her gift, show me her manicured hands and pick up the greenery from my sister. We only ate half of our dinners last night so this evening will be quiet. Hope yours is as well. Thanks for the visit. Be safe. “I would like my life to be a statement of love and compassion – and where it isn’t, that’s where my work lies.”
Ram Das

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.