Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Christmas Greetings

We have had a very quiet Christmas Day.

I did my morning walk in drizzle, but before the heavier rain came. I extended it by another few yards and used sticks instead of crutches.

In the late morning, Mum came upstairs and we opened our presents. It is so lovely when people have thought carefully about what you will enjoy.

We spoke to my cousin, Freda, and I was able to tell her that the flowers she sent over a week ago are still looking perfect.

We watched the King’s speech together.

Margaret (across the road) called later. She had already had a busy day and was going to put turkey with all the trimmings on their plates this evening.

I cooked chicken breasts coated in salt, pepper and sweet paprika with roast potatoes, honey roasted parsnips and puréed carrot. The potatoes (from Tesco) were rather dry inside, so I wished I had prepared my own from scratch. I made white sauce for the Christmas pudding.

Annette has come for the evening shift and is busy creating order out of chaos in the kitchen. I’m quite tired, but my walking was much better today.

My blip is the window of the village shop. When I saw the sentiments expressed, I was keen to share them. How much we need peace now. It is hard to have Hope, Love and Joy otherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.