The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A Trinity Christmas

When CS and I woke up, it was growing light, but an owl was hooting very near to our bedroom window. At the same time, the finches were tuning up for the dawn chorus. We had a mug of tea, then got up to make the Christmas cake, which had somehow not been for round to. I know it's heresy, but we did use the food processor for the early stages. Got cake in oven, got bathed and dressed, and then Steve dropped me off at S's, so I could give him some presents. We went over to the Trinity Rooms. 

Immediately we entered, we realized that our names had not been registered as guests or helpers. I don't know how that happened, but it did mean that we didn't have to help out. As we sat and chatted, the lights went out. That's odd, I thought, but then the word went around that the electricity had gone off in the kitchen. Not great for mass catering....

CleanSteve came along, and all the other guests, as we started queueing for food. Wed only just got our Christmas dinners when one of the people in charge made an impassioned olea for the remaining people to go to one of the other venues for lunch: one was walking distance, the other on the opposite side of town. Fortunately we were saved, and I would not have wanted to go anywhere else. Trinity is my lovely local community hall.

Eventually the electricity was fixed, and the fixer got around of applause. Mother Christmas turned up. She has a beard! S went home, and we had Christmas pudding. I think this had all been cooked by some friendly person in his own kitchen while we were all sitting in the gloom without power. No easy feat; there must have been a hundred of us!

The crackers were all made by local volunteers, and contained small toys and sweets donated by charities. I built a little tower out of the remains. That's S in the background, out of focus. My old friend T was there too, and we were sitting beside people we knew. All very neighbourly, though I felt for S who is spending his second Christmas in Stroud.  When he went home, he sent me some pictures of Christmas in Iran. where he was born.

CS and I went home and I watched TV and fell asleep for a while. Then CS' old friends turned up for tea and a visit. I hadn't seen them for years. They are collecting a cat from a breeder tomorrow, which is why they are in Stroud. We had a catch up over a cup of tea, and so ce they left I've been watching TV and doing a jigsaw all evening. Bliss, I tell you! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.