carliewired

By carliewired

64 F/ 18 C

Clean energy is
the important factor in
development now

~carliewired

It was after lunch before I put my shoes on and walked out the door. I thought I'd like to have a look at the solar farm just southwest of my neighbourhood. It's been on the go for about 10 years now. 

There wasn't much to see when I arrived. It is a facility that is heavily secured. I couldn't see much through the fencing. Perhaps because I was past midday the solar panels were all sitting horizontally like tables. 

400 acres of desert land in Yuma county has been earmarked for solar facility. It is financed and owned by Arizona Public Service (power company) and was built by a third party. APS has a 35 year lease on the land at a cost of $10 million. 

Development of the site is continuing. I was dodging big dump trucks coming in and out of the site today. 

Back at home here, I have solar panels on my roof which feed power back in to the grid. It is a small benefit to me. The power company has it all going its way. They sell the power back to me on the grid for more than they pay me for what my panels produce. At the end of each calendar year, my credits expire. Perhaps if I lived here all year, the picture would be different. I understand why I am one of the very few in this area with solar panels. Surely, the city with the most hours of sunshine each year should be the 'poster child' for solar power, but we are not! 

I'm in for the afternoon playing with my fabric. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.