9 C / 49 F

An absurd turn in
the weather - but who am I
to complain? It's grand!

~carliewired

My daughter was ill all Christmas Day. All she ate was some mashed potatoes with gravy. She began to cough in the morning and barked like a seal. She's had little or no sleep. So, this morning I was off to a pharmacy to find something for that cough. For whatever reason the shelves for cough and cold are almost bare. I grabbed what I could find.

I was delighted to see the sun come out with some blue sky. The cloud formations are incredible. There's every kind of cloud one could imagine. A brisk wind has come up and the temperature has soared. It was already 5 C when I arrived in McArthur Island Park looking for deer. 

I stopped on the north side first and found some ducks waiting to cross the loop road. They'd waddled up to the snowy curb in single file, then paused before crossing the road. 

I drove over to the southwest corner with hopes to find deer in the disc golf course. I only found disc golfers today. One fellow with a red toque seemed to be playing the course all alone. A threesome were ploughing through the snow with their gear in wheeled carts. It was certainly the perfect winter morning to enjoy the game. 

It was such a treat to walk in sunshine and warm air. I really didn't want to stop. 

I continued along the loop road and had to stop for Canada geese that walked across the road in front of me. 

I stopped for some fruit juice at the grocery store, then made for home. I took another round of snow removal in my driveway and hammered down the windrow left by the city plough. Water is dripping off the roof.  I'm in for the day. No need to cook today. 

The forecast was for a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 7 C. We've already surpassed that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.