5 C/ 41 F

A very late blip
captured near sunset on a
wet and muddy day

~carliewired

The rain started after dark last evening. I could hear those little pinging sounds on the skylights. I stepped outside just before bed about 11 PM to see how much snow had already melted from my yard. 

This morning I checked my long deck to see how little snow remained. The rain had continued lightly overnight. The valleys were covered in fog at first light. Warm air and rain had met cold ground. Now we need to be concerned about flooding in some areas. The snow is coming off fast. 

I was delayed getting away from the house until 2 PM. The cloud and fog had risen and just a few ribbons of sun were sliding into our valleys. I took the bridge to the south shore turning off to Mission Flats. The sun was so bright on the wet pavement that it blinded me temporarily. 

I found the eagles I was hoping for. There were just two juveniles at the end of the road on the usual trees. These immature ones always look rather bedraggled to me. I was happy to have a chance to photograph them and catch a bit of sun and blue sky in the process. 

I got a shot of my mountains looking across Rabbit Island. I looked down the river towards the lake in two locations. I really appreciated the much warmer day. 

N came to fix my kitchen drain while I was out. I am so thankful! I'm in for the rest of the day with my feet up. 

The forecast was for a cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 5 C. It's turned out somewhat better than that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.