My day

By 59

Bathurst architecture

Today our son suggested a drive around the city. It has doubled in size since we moved here in the mid 90s. There are many new suburbs, some look lovely but others are so bland, grey rooves, grey brick, no landscaping and everyone trying to do better than their neighbour. The middle shot is in a new subdivision, facing north over the river. It’s a perfect position but not an inspiring house in my opinion.  

The top one is an old house in our street, it has the first stages of a development starting so I wonder what they will build. It’s only a block from the shops so I think it’s good to use the vacant land. 

The lower picture is Abercrombie House, a Scottish inspired mansion on the outskirts of town. The owners have spent their lifetime doing it up and today there are tours in place as it is surrounded by cars. 

The extra is the little cardigan and hat I made for my friend’s baby. 

All quiet here as James has gone to stay the night with his twin brother. We are looking forward to meeting the 2 Sydney grandchildren tomorrow. They are catching the train for the first time. So I’m washing sheets, as you do between visitors. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.