a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Retrospective

Another year over
... and a new one about to begin.

Looking back to the end of 2022, it was tipping down with rain when I came to do my retrospective blip, and it comes as little surprise that 2023 is going out in similarly wet style. Once again I thought that I might as well do a roundup of my year in photography to celebrate the actual completion of my 9 calendar years here on Blip, following my technical Blip-a-versary a few days ago.  So there are no new photos here as such - but given the weather outside that's probably for the best! 

I started 2023 with the observation that I'd hardly taken any landscape shots in the previous year.  I have made more of an effort in that regard this year as today's blip demonstrates, and much to my surprise I've really enjoyed the challenge, almost as much as photographing wildlife.  That said, 2023 was a great year for bearded tits, puffins, owls and red deer.  I can't complain I have very much enjoyed my photography this year.

I've also produced a few selfies along the way to keep you amused.  I'd originally set myself the task of trying to produce one a month, but it was much harder to find the inspiration (and props) necessary to meet that target.  In the event there were 6 self portaits that I was quite pleased with.  

I'm very much hoping that 2024 brings more of the sort of opportunities that I was lucky enough to enjoy this year. I can but keep my fingers crossed.  Despite all of this year's opportunities I've still ended up not using all my extras - as I see that I've still got 3 remaining, just like last year.

Cathy and I were a bit under the weather at Christmas, but we are off to a New Year's Eve party to tonight to make up for it.  However it comes in for you, I  wish all of you out there in Blip land all the very best for a peaceful and happy New Year, when it gets to you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.