TMac

By TMac

Seeing the Year Out

2023 has been a howler. As have the preceding years. 
We were invited by a good friend to join him and his 5 year old son for a morning on the water. I hadn't kayaked in weeks and had been contemplating giving up. I didn't want to go. 
However, this friend was the person who introduced me to kayaking and is responsible for encouraging me to pursue it. So, we went. 
Canoes and kayaks, friends and strangers, lots of excited little people in bobble hats and buoyancy aids.
Mist over the loch, ice on the still waters.
Laughter ringing out in the silence. 
The fun in crunching our boats through the ice.
Games on the water.
Then mulled wine and birthday cake.
I felt very grateful.
I decided to have a swim in the icy waters (before the mulled wine!). It was exhilarating and liberating.
Not often that I feel like that so I'm going to try to take that feeling into 2024.
I'll be "back-blipping" soon.
I'm determined to keep it going this time.
Thanking all those lovely fellow Blippers for their encouragement and support over the years. 
Wishing everyone the very best in 2024.
Photo is of me, with my camera, but taken by someone else. 
That still counts, doesn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.