Capital adventures

By marchmont

Welcome 2024

Well we made it!  The Souled Out fireworks started a wee bit ahead of time (didn't manage to avoid the reflection of my tree in the window) so we didn't do the countdown but Amelia  was having a melt down anyway.  They left just before #2 son sent a messaged/phoned to say - 'look out the window and see a fire work from his balcony' which I did - a mile away straight ahead. 

I finished my book (Past Lies - I've slept through quite a bit but got the gist) and didn't go to bed till nearly 2.  

And then it was Monday, which meant the farm was shut so Plan B was off to the new Velvet cinema in 163 to see 'Wonka'.  The cinema is like (for those of youwho know it) the Dominion, plush large seats and drinks and food at your seat.  The film was really good, much better than I thought it might be.  Funny, and Olivia Colman is brilliant.  

Then, despite a snack during the movie we went to Kenny Hills Coffee for coffee and cake before Daiso and trying to track down a roast chicken, eventually found in Ben's. And of course the Christmas decs are gone and the CNY ones are on sale - almost 6 weeks away. We didn't get back till nearly 5 and I had a lie down before it was time to go next door for dinner.  It was very good (though another almost meltdown for Amelia, finished off with Waitrose Christmas pud (I think the one I brought last year) flamed with some dubious rum from the bag of the cupboard - it certainly packed a punch. 

I didn't stay too long.  It was very hot and everyone was tired plus an early night needed as Olivia up at 5.30 tomorrow, back to school!

I ended the day with a swim, to cool off and enjoy lying on my back looking at the sky.  I don't know why I love it so much, but I do. Once again I had the pool to myself but got out just before a father and daughter arrived. Upstairs ep 1 of another French dram on Netflix,  La Foret, and I managed how to get the audio in VO and the subtitles in English!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.