2023

We started the year with a balloon drop from the 27th floor and our 'carry out'. The balloons didn't last long, the staff had them burst and tidied away by 12.15. We didn't see the midnight fireworks but there balloons were a hit and we returned to my room to continue the party. I got to bed at 2.

A slow day followed. The SIM/Foo family went to meet friends, #3 and H went to visit jungle and see monkeys. #2, C and me went to Chinatown and Little India. It was hot and very busy but we did see the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and had food at a very traditional restaurant, famous in Chinatown.

I was tired though and my piriformis was playing up. Too much walking. I bought trousers and then we took a Grab to Raffles. Very touristy, a queue for the Long Bar, and a Singapore Sling that seemed much sweeter than I remembered.

We didn't stay for a second but left through the hotel, saw where the sea used to be and visited the Civilian War Memorial. Back at the hotel I was straight to the pool to stretch out.

Dinner was also separate. The Sim/Foos had lunched late and didn't want any, #3 and H went for ramen. #2, C and Olivia and I went down to Tiong Bahru for enormous pizza. And then it was home to bed. A busy start to the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.