Happy New Year

Our Zoom entry to 2022 was a bit staccato, technical glitches, and ended just before 1. There a few very loud bangs just after I went to bed but I didn't see any fireworks.

We had the warmest New Year's Day. It was 13 deg when I woke before 7. Who knew the previous was 1992 in Inverurie. I don't remember it though I was there.

Did some prep stuff though there is not much to be done as the main meal is cooked and the table was set yesterday. But in a Christmas Day update, I found and repaired the missing Christmas stocking.

So I was able to go to my happy place, the garden, for a couple of hours after I'd phoned cousin D in Troon. His holiday plans were scuppered by Covid. Younger daughter and family couldn't come over from Christmas and now older daughter in Bonnyrig has Covid so can't come for New Year.

Outside I cut down the dead foliage from the autumn flowering clematis, tidied up the honeysuckle and the roses and a few other bits and pieces. I didn't even have a jacket on. It lightened my mood but it didn't last.

The family arrived as planned. I'm still processing the exchange with #3 son. The meal went well but far too much talk about the flat. It felt at times that 4 of us were observers. But Delia's chocolate truffle tart went down very well.

After they left I watched some TV, including the new BBC drama and the next episode of the Netflix one. It was later than it seemed when I went to bed.

I'm distinctly unenthusiastic about life at present. The pre 2020 certainties have gone. I'm hoping 2022 will allow some of them to return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.