Capital adventures

By marchmont

Happy New Year

It's been a funny kind of day. Spoke to WH in the morning about a parcel and then after the rain stopped and a -ve test headed to Mortonhall and wee Tesco to get final things for tomorrow, and a diary for Mum.

Later 4 more bigger parcels arrived (the delivery, woman, rang the doorbell). Exciting, I will keep till Sunday.

I have a number of Hogmanay things I do. The first is to watch the live Sydney firework display, now courtesy of ABC on YouTube. Awesome! Then messaged the rellies to wish them HNY. Then the girls Whatsapped me while they were dancing (in KL) to the same fireworks. Double awesome!. Messages to #2 son about first footing traditions. I think he was in a bar.

Later the KL mob video called and we spoke as the girls drank sweet pink stuff and danced to the Singapore fireworks. Oh I wish I was there but I have decided, Covid willing, we will be in Sydney for the start of 2023 and my next big birthday. My third time to the Sydney fireworks, fingers crossed.

I was going to start tidying the office but got bogged down in the historic documents that came after I sold the flat, all the original dispositions right back to 1905. Sorted it all out and wrote up info on the 10 owners for #3 son. Had a side trip looking at this house in 1935 and 1940. The first owner was a Mair, the second person I know of to die in the house. By 1940 the Valuation Roll showed that a number of properties in the street comprised a house and car house! Was garage too American? Anyway that stroll through history whiled away most of the day.

But the table is set for tomorrow, the house is tidy, both freezers are stappit fu' and I'm getting ready for our Zoom Hogmanay party starting 23.39. 2021 a non kind of year is about to depart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.