Capital adventures

By marchmont

The end of a year

It was a bit snowy this morning and then turned into rain.  I'm having another go at sourdough.  While I was tidying the kitchen I looked out and saw a flash of yellow.  The feeders were being mobbed by goldfinches.  Difficult to get a good shot and my best one keeps coming out sideways - no idea why.

The rest of the day has been spent pottering. Willow is not impressed by the weather.  She hasn't been out much.

Talked to mum a couple of times, about deliveries, received some late Christmas cards from Australia (posted end of Nov/early Dec) and France and early birthday cards. Was in contact with all the boys but I still feel very alone.  I never feel at my best on a Scottish Hogmanay. 

Olivia managed to have her belated school graduation, outside and I was sent the pics.  I am so glad she was able to be with and say goodbye to her friends.  The girls look so much older.  I am missing them. 

Drove to Margiotta (oh dear) to get some supplies of nibbles for later - they are actually open till10 p.m.

Watched the 2021 fireworks from Auckland and Sydney on YouTube.  Felt almost normal and as usual spectacular.  I have some party poppers.  They will have to do. 

Later I'll have chilli and even later there will be our Hogmanay Zoom.  And then that will be a wrap, the end of the oddest year ever. 

F2F - 1
Phone calls - 3
Virtual - 1 (to come)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.