curns' corner

By curns

Hit

I was up and having coffee about 9am and then I retreated to the bedroom to begin the day as I was working. Nobody joined the 9:30am standup - I wasn’t sure if anybody would or not - and the morning was extremely quiet.  PY brought me a bacon and sausage roll at one point - I think that was the breakfast everybody was enjoying while I was upstairs. I wasn’t working from the usual room as guests had been sleeping there but I had my computer on a table and that was enough. 

While I was sitting thinking about what to do, I listened to a documentary about The Real Spies Among Friends which spoke about  how the Cambridge spy network was uncovered. It’s quite impressive that Kim Philby got back into the British Establishment after the defection of Donald Maclean and Guy Burgess. 

Everybody left around lunch time and there was a bit of a race on to get to an M&S to buy a bottle of the spiced rum infused with the flavours of stollen (raisins and orange peel) which has been the hit of the holidays. Our original bottle was free in an M&S giveaway but PY bought 3 more (2 to give away) and we bought a different light-up liqueur for the Christmas party last week. I think M&S have done quite well out of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.