A day in the life

By Shelling

Place of ones own

Yet another storm is upon us, I've already forgotten the name of this one. I've been out to fetch firewood, to take a video for HarlingDarling and to get a beer from the cellar, that's it, and even that demanded some thought if it was really necessary or not in this kind of weather, I found that it was. The storm involves snow as well and it will go on during the night. Snow on my flat island in combination with high winds can mean traffic problems, it will be interesting to see how much snow actually came.

There was no chance of a walk today, instead I continued practicing yoga with Adrienne on the web and the rest of the morning was spent playing and sitting in telephone queues to the bank and other places, both matters was solved within an hour and a half.

After lunch, I was playing a bit but mostly reading my book by the fireplace, accompanied by a glass of Rum and a coffee. I've never read anything by Virginia Woolf so I started with her "A room of ones own" which is a collection of essays based on some lectures she made on the subject of why there are so little, if any, literature by women during Shakespeare's time. "Poetry is dependant on intellectual freedom" and one of her conclusions is that women are in need of "A room of ones own" to obtain this. I find the book and her thoughts on the subject very interesting, her mind is sharp as a razor. 
In the evening I started watching "Lidia Poët" on internet, without knowing that the series deals with the exact same concept that women are not allowed intellectual freedom and thus are not allowed to work as fx lawyers in France around 1880. French law made it possible to study law and to actually be a lawyer but not to actually practice law in court. Lidia Poët became the first lawyer in France and the series are based on her story. Well worth seeing.

So, once that book is finished, what other book by Virginia Woolf should I continue reading?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.