A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Winter glory

A lovely frosty start to the day. Putting out some washing, the firm ground tempted me up to the top of the garden to look at the  Witch Hazels (Hamamelis)

The tiny specks of yellow seen back at the end of November have developed into a mass of small flowers all over the yellow flowering tree. Still quite small but lots of winter blooms to come. I took a few shots in the lovely early light.

We both headed up to church for 10.00am. Chris to take down the nativity in front of church (he did it on his own as unfortunately M our other church warden is still ill) and me to meet friend and fellow chorister  B to take down the church Christmas tree  - this one for the last time. 
I walked home to make coffee whilst Chris did some shopping and then I took down our tree. I’d removed the baubles yesterday and packed them up leaving just the lights on last night.
All done now.

As the sun had illuminated more of the Witch Hazel I went back to look at the flowers. To the naked eye there was barely any colour visible on the red one but with my macro lens I was able to see quite a few little red buds appearing. Looking back over the years our first red hamamelis was always the first to flower,  this replacement must be a different variety.  It is slowly growing and is obviously full of life so can’t complain.

Sun and blue skies all day, definitely nothing to complain about even if my washing didn’t dry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.