The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Foxy Loxy*

As cool as a cucumber, as bold as brass, as handsome as only a fox can be, he strolled around our garden in broad daylight. Steve saw him later, heading towards the neighbours' garden. Uh-oh, they have chickens. Or at least they HAD. I haven't heard the dock crowing for ages, come to think of it. 

Foxy Loxy (whose nickname comes from the fable/well loved tale, Chicken Licken) was the highlight of my day, apart from retracing my journey to the Oxfam shop last week and reclaiming the key that I accidentally donated to them last week, inside a pocket on a bag! 

I did a shop for yet more stuff that I need for India. I dread to think how much I've spent! Managed to get everything, apart from a coin cell battery for my small luggage scale. Then I went home and had a practice pack. All is fine. I do need to unpack and do a bit of ironing, but the good news is that my summer-ish clothes still fit me, despite the weight gain that goes along with having a sedentary job and eating a lot of chocolate!  Speaking of exercise (or lack of ) S gave me a smart watch yesterday. According to its data, I've walked 10376 steps today. I know that if we're using my old pedometer, it would count the steps differently, but according to this one, I am winning!

We also put the Christmas stuff back in the loft, which is an ordeal in itself. I decided to give the Twelfth Night party a miss (the afternoon one that I attended yesterday, 24 hours early!) because we'd had a slow start and I was still shopping for tiny soaps and other stuff. There's now a rumour that we may need CoVid vaccination certificates for our domestic flights within India. My last jag/jab was four months ago, and I am pretty sure that the new variant wasn't a Thing then. 

Note to self: get Working Hands cream from office drawer. Thumbs are severely chapped already, and the thought of all that sanitiser is making them want to bleed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.