Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Winter jasmine

Our day started early and dramatically.

Mum’s buzzer woke me at 0100. She had slipped between bed and commode and was on the floor and trapped. I was able to move her trolley so she could sit up beside the bed. Her idea to get up herself once I lowered the bed as far as possible, did not work.

The two paramedics who came were brilliant. They were professional, friendly and very kind. Callum held Mum’s hand while I dressed the gashes on her right leg.

We were rather tired. Sharon came to care for Mum and Karen to do the cleaning.

I had a late walk before lunch.

Then a doze in the chair.

Does anyone remember Distalgesic tablets. They were very popular when I was a GP back in the early 1980s. Clinical trials showed them to be no better than paracetamol, so they went off prescription, much to the upset of people who loved them.

Today, I could do with a few. Paracetamol is not working. Something stronger would be ideal, without going for the opiates.

I digress. People found the name Distalgesic hard to say. Can I have some off those “diesel gistics"?

The best ever was the patient who in frustration asked the receptionist for the “just for Jesus” tablets!

Funny how things pop back into your head.

Apropos of nothing, here is a spray of winter jasmine in my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.