carliewired

By carliewired

60 F/ 16 C

A cold start to a
lovely sunny day in the 
Foothills of Yuma

~carliewired

I was up just after 7 and wondered why the house felt so chilly. I hadn't turned the heater up sufficiently to cope with the overnight temperature drop. It was a chilly 3 C/ 37 F outside while my kitchen thermometer registered 18 C/ 65 F. Most of Arizona had a freeze warning due to all the storms circulating to the north and northeast of us. 

I dawdled for the morning laying out more of the quilt I am working on. At noon, I made my way to the library for the monthly meeting of our artists association. 

My gal pals are on the executive so it's always good to see them shine in this capacity. L serves as president and P is the secretary. 

Today we needed to sign up for Paint In Day in February. Our own members donate their time and talents to give classes to the membership. I've signed up for a watercolor class in the morning and another with glass for the afternoon. Included in that day is a lunch provided for us all. 

We had two tables loaded with show and tell items today. I always come home so inspired by the art work this group produces. 

Today we had a guest speaker who talked about the history of Yuma with a thought of where we might go to paint this history. Sadly, most of the routes of exploration and historical significance have been lost over time. We can find them on a map, but any physical evidence is scant. 

I'm home working on my quilt project until the sun sets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.