Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The obelisk on the hill

I have blipped this before (from a slightly different angle) and particularly for one of Bobs WW themes.  Well I am all for recycling aren't you.  I blipped it in mono then (some 14 months ago) so here you have the coloured version.

So in case you have forgotten, this is what I said about it then:

It was built I believe in 1850 although it has been rebuilt several times as lightning seems to like it and it was damaged in the Newcastle Earthquake in 1989.   The hill that it is situated on has much more of a history in that there used to be a windmill which ground grain for the colony and like the obelisk, was used as a navigation aid.  Underneath are reservoirs which were used for water supply. 

My first day back at work today and as usual on a work day I am running behind in comments.  Apologies if I don't get to you this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.