madwill's world

By madwill

Solitary Mushroom

I found this solitary mushroom on my walk up through the lay-by today!

I also found the answer to a mystery…

About a month ago I blipped some mysterious yellow markings that had appeared in the lay-by. I did see recently that some new marks / arrows had also been drawn.

Well, today as I walked up there, the service road gate was open and a Northern Gas Networks van was parked in the entrance (extra). There were another couple of NGN vans in the service road and a gang of men in bright yellow ‘GAS’ jackets wandering around with sensing probes and pipe detectors.

I stopped for a chat and they are trying to find a leak! They know it’s there, but trying to find the source is proving elusive - as the pipeline is buried under the embankment - the same one that yesterday’s snowdrops were on. The pipe is apparently at least a metre below ground level and the embankment is about two metres high - so they are going to have dig a very big and deep hole - and cut down a lot of trees (hedge) to get to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.