The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The obligatory departure board shot

I didn't take any other pics apart from the inside of the coach to the airport! Steve went out, I bathed and  dressed and packed again, then I watched travel docs on TV. It was SO cold. 15 degrees inside. 

Then Steve drove me to Cirencester to catch the bus to Heathrow. Another couple waiting were flying to India, but to Delhi not Mumbai. Motorway M4 was closed, but Westbound, not east. 

At Heathrow I did the usual airport wandering but it's no longer necessary to show all one's toiletries at Security. So much quicker! Hurrah. The flight departed on time. Dinner was served at midnight! ,'Gluten free, what even is that ?' I had the vegan meal  I'm going to be eating a lot of lentils on this holiday. That's ok with me. 

Only one scary airport moment when I realised that I had not printed the right piece of paper for my e visa. An official showed me how to load it on my phone and save it as a screenshot, but there is a preference for paper documents, so that's going to be fun, ongoing!
 (My fear of airport security dates back to flying to Mexico on PanAm, via JFK, in 1990. I was a solo traveller, I had stamps from Istanbul in my passport, everyone still rembered the Lockerbie bombing, and security decided to give me a hard time, even down to 'How come all your friends have Irish names?' Guess what, guys?I was born in Ireland, raised in Ireland until I was ten years old, a few people have left Ireland  over the centuries and travelled...
It is time to stop being scared. I am clearly not a terrorist. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.