SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Wander

Since A was at a kite flying event in Roslin, I'd intended to walk there with Django and get a lift back. However, after I left, she came home after the wind dropped. So, once I got to Roslin Castle, I decided to continue along the Esk through the steepest part of Roslin Glen. It was as muddy as I'd expected, and there are some fallen trees to avoid - officially the path is closed - but it was fun. I paid homage to Mavisbank (see extra) and when leaving Lasswade Old Kirk, I spotted that the 140 bus was "Due" - less than 2 minutes. More in hope than expectation, we ran down the hill to the bus stop, but it had gone. With an hour to wait for the next direct bus, I entered the Laird and Dog, wondering whether it was dog friendly. With no staff available, I asked a regular, and it was OK - and only to be hoped, given the name of the pub! Appropriately, I drank a pint of Stewart Brewing's "Winter Escape" as I waited.

Back home, I had a nap, and listened to the end of the United Vs Spurs game, relieved that we held out for a draw!

Hopefully 32km of walking - albeit relatively slow and flat- this weekend has helped shift my cold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.