Capital adventures

By marchmont

Comforting cocoa

I got woken at 7 by the whatsapp ring meaning Gordon was on line. They're suffering from the smoke blowing over from Sarawak. Not as bad as Singapore but bad enough. It dragged me out of a very odd dream.

K and I chatted and then went to JL where I spent squillions, on pressies and things for me and 3 pairs of shoes! Imelda, that's me.

Back to Carphone Warehouse to get even more stuff for the new phone. It won't go live till Tuesday though.

And more new things, well a new to me. Dad has decided, quite rightly at 90, to stop driving and I'm falling heir to the car. It feels odd. I haven't owned a car since 2010. It will be bit more than NOT having one but ..... is the last stage of getting my life back? Independence and grownupness?
Then to nephew's engagement party. I managed to get the bride to be's name wrong on the gift card, she's Kathleen, not Katharine. Doh! It was a restrained event but good because so many of the family were there. Nephew, niece and partners, parents, 2 sons, girlfriend and cousin's daughter. My Edinburgh family. I love them all.
But now home, to a warming cup of cocoa. It's dreich outside, but at least the grass seed will grow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.