carliewired

By carliewired

71 F/ 22 C

Looking to find a
painting location was just
a short drive from home

~carliewired

I was up in the dark just after 6 and on my way to the grocery store within minutes. It is such an easy jaunt with no competition for the check-outs. I was home unloading my bags before 7. I sat with my coffee mug in the dark waiting for the light to come up. 

Since it was another blue sky morning, I thought I should take a little look around the Foothills for some plein air painting locations on the desert. I drove past my mesquite tree on the wash and kept going. I circled around a rather nice housing subdivision but kept my eyes on the landscape. 

Looking east, the Gila Mountains were a bit hazy. There's something of a brisk wind whipping the flags, so it's bringing up the dust at the same time. A view to the north, the mountains seemed clear. Again, to the west, there was some haze on the horizon. 

I found a large brittle bush plant in full bloom. No doubt it drunk its fill from the rain storms we had recently. Those bright yellow heads are held high above the leaves of the plant. It looks something like a pincushion full of decorative pins. 

I'm at home. The feet got a workout at the grocery store and are complaining loudly. I will restrict their use to quilting efforts today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.