carliewired

By carliewired

66 F/ 19 C

From rain to fog in
just twenty-four hours - I want
the sunshine back now!

~carliewired

Yesterday, Yuma set a record for the amount of rain that fell in one day - 1.06 inches. That beat the previous record set in 1915. My driveway became a swamp, but my neighbour had to pump the water off his lot and onto the street. Today, there are huge puddles everywhere. 

The weather gadget on my laptop warned of 'haze' this morning. I had to look outside to see what that was supposed to be. I translated that to fog, something I have not seen here before. I looked across the street to the neighbouring palms and down the street to the west. Yes, that's fog. 

I needed to go in search of some quilting fabric. The quilting store on the highway opened at 9 so I was off. I had to navigate a very large puddle to get myself parked.  I always enjoy the mascot seated beside the front door. 

Grandma Jo's is changing hands at the end of the month. The present owner is retiring on her 65th birthday on January 31. I hope the store does not undergo too many changes. It has specialized in a lot of southwest fabric and patterns, making it just perfect for those of us in the desert. 

I'm in for the day, once again, working on the quilt in progress. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.