An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

And dream of sheep...

A busy and enjoyable day :-)

I am seeing Ele tomorrow so wanted to have all the sheep paintings finished today so she can choose which ones she wants (if any!) tomorrow.

When we discussed what she wanted for her downstairs WC, she showed me a painting of quirky sheep I had done previously, and asked for a larger version of that.  She chose two frames so I knew exactly the size she wanted, and I set about painting them.  I blipped one a few days ago.

When I finished painting them I wasn't 100% happy that they would live happily in the space designated for them and after pondering a little longer, I decided that the designated space called for three smaller square frames, with sheep in shades better suited to the room, rather than two rectangular frames with a lot more green in the scene.  So I've painted these little sheep as well.  Basically I've separated the group of three in my previous painting and I think they're a better fit.

I've framed the two larger ones as well so she can take them all home with her and see them in situ before deciding.  I also painted two little quirky dogs and she can have a look at those too but I didn't have her WC in mind when I painted them so they're a bit of a wild card :D 

I've had great fun painting them.  I spend so much time dithering about what to paint, it's nice to have a brief for a change :D 

I mentioned the other day (at least I think I did! lol) that as part of our wedding gift to our friend's daughter and her fianceé, I am going to crochet them a cuddle blanket.  I started crocheting it using a cotton yarn I love but it just didn't feel special enough, so I ordered the most beautiful 100% wool from West Yorkshire spinners and it arrived today (see extra)  OMG!  It is the most beautiful yarn I've ever crocheted with! 

The blanket will consist of solid granny squares, alternating pink and blue and each square will have a great love heart at its centre.  I will crochet a deep border in all three colours to finish it off.

The wool comes from a cross breed of Bluefaced Leicester and Kerry Hill sheep.  I  know nothing about sheep but I like the sound of that.  My sheep are more grey faced than blue, so they must be a different breed :D

Not officially starting the blanket till next week as have a busy weekend ahead but I couldn't resist trying out one square (also in extras)  It is a dream to crochet and I can't wait to get started.  

Lazy dinner tonight (fish supper) then the final of Traitors.  Fabulous!!!

Then after the sad news of the three recent deaths I mentioned yesterday, got the most wonderful news of a birth from my friend Mae.  

Mae's eldest son committed suicide aged 27 in 2019 and to be honest it has virtually destroyed her.  She told me that she stopped living the day he died and now she just exists.  It is heartbreaking.  She goes on for the sake of her two other children, a son in Australia and a daughter who lives close by and makes sure her mum is ok.

Well I got a message from Mae this evening telling me she's a Gran!  Her son in Australia and his partner had a little girl on 21st January (my birthday! :-) and all are well.  No one knew a baby was on the way as her son wanted it kept secret till their little bundle was safely here, but now she can shout it from the roof tops!

She had a disastrous visit down under to visit her son a couple of years ago when she caught covid on the plane and was really ill the whole time she was there.  She's flying out again at the beginning of March with her daughter and her daughter's partner and I just know this time it's going to be so different.  This is just what she needed.  

Nothing will ever diminish the pain of losing G but I am sure when she holds her little granddaughter she will feel true joy for the first time in a very long time.  She deserves to.  

And dream of sheep...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.