Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Learning Welsh

What a horrible wet day.

There were some light moments!

It was too wet to walk, so I drove to Aldi in Hexham, especially to pick up their Weetbix and coffee pods. Of course I bought more besides.

A couple were taking their time to choose ground coffee. The pods were easy for me to reach so I said “excuse me” and reached for a box. The next set of boxes started to tumble down on their heads. (We discovered that it was all due to a carton of orange juice that had slipped on the back to back shelf, but that was once we had rescued boxes of coffee pods!) it was resolved quite amicably.

I was tired after pushing the trolley around so abandoned any more shopping.

I drove to see the other Marjorie. I’d hoped to take her out to coffee but she had not seen my overnight messages.

She was in, but it was her U3A Welsh group. Only two of them, so I was invited in for coffee. Although I had wiped my feet, I managed to tread mud into the pale cream carpet of her lounge. Arghh!

The other member present was Cathy. She remembered me because she worked with special needs pupils at one of the local high schools. I used to go in to discuss children who were my patients (when I was the Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist for the area). I did training with staff too.

The Welsh group is only 5 strong. Most of them were brought up in North Wales. Some were born in the same hospital and some attended the same school. “From Wrexham to Hexham”!

I was home at 1159, just before Joan was due to leave. She helped me with the shopping. I reluctantly realise that I am not yet back to full strength!

Tonight my RAW files from the Fuji camera were not accepted by Adobe Bridge or Photoshop. They were fine yesterday. I had to change them to jpg before I could see or edit them. Google was no help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.