The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Nighthawk

I went back to work today. First there was the door keypad. Oh dear, what was the code? By focusing intensely and visualizing myself walking into the kitchen (which shares the same code) I eventually remembered it.

Then there was the login password for my laptop..I'd had to change it before I went away. I knew this was a bad idea. I also knew that I'd  written it down somewhere, but not exactly where. By the time I'd got through to IT, and was glancing through my notebook for the third time, I'd stumbled across it. Hurrah! 

 Both of my colleagues were off. I had the place to myself. The sweets I'd brought back to share turned out to be disgusting. It's always 50/50 with unknown sweets from Abroad. 

After work I had my hair cut. Then I went early to the Sub Rooms to grab some food before the film. I was negotiating for a table (paella night is popular) when a woman asked me if I was dining solo, and if so, would I like to join her at her table ? How could I refuse?

We ate our paellas. She was there to see a  streaming of an NT play, Dear England. She loves theatre. It turns out that she actually writes for theatre, and musicals, and librettos!  Good grief, Stroud is  full of such interesting people. 

The writer had to leave to go to see her film, and I was joined by SA. We were going to watch the film 'How to blow up a pipeline' which is based on a book, set in West Texas. I sat on the edge of my seat throughout, such was the tension. Bomb making is not for me. I grew up in Ireland during the Troubles. Why did I go to see it? Well, SA wanted to, and I'm a film club member, and I owe SA a favour. 

Afterwards, I walked home alone and did not get run over by traffic. There wasn't any. This is Stroud, not Jaipur. 


.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.