Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Mono Monday: thick(en)

Thanks to Laurie for the theme. Because I'm coeliac I can't use standard flour to make a roux. Instead I use cornflour to thicken sauces if I'm making, for example, cauliflower cheese. Comfort food of the gods. 

Yesterday's sleepover went well till a nightmare awoke our grandson. He was spooked by his dressing gown hanging on the bedroom door. That resulted in some musical beds and a slow start to the morning. Flora's antics didn't help. Nor did the very noisy wind. 

So far today he has drawn rainbows in the correct colour order, taught me the French word for infinity, the Polish words for dressing gown, car, dog and cat but not infinity . We've played with Lego and he's now building with K'nex. 

We have a delivery to pop into the local day centre which will give us a walk and then we'll take a late afternoon train to Glasgow to rendezvous with my grandson's dad. They'll go home one way and I'll return to Stirling, blip and my book. And cauliflower cheese! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.