Capital adventures

By marchmont

RIP Jim

The expected news came this evening after 7.  Jim died this morning in ARI, 20 days after the MRI scan found the brain tumour.  I'd known him for 20+ years.  Not a close friend but we were part of that friendship group that did daft things together.  We zoomed weekly for nearly 2 years during Covid.  We went to Celtic Connections, we moaned about and celebrated our families.  Last December, before I left for KL, I was in Fife for the weekend with K his wife. Only 2 months ago. 

This morning I was transferring the photos I took yesterday with my camera to the laptop and found some files on the SD card that I didn't know were there.  Turns out they were short video files taken when I'd pressed video accidentally.  This is a still from one of them - October 2017 when we were in Southampton together at L and C's celebrating numerous 65th birthdays, with a 70's theme.  This is a still from 'the boys' singing 'Everlasting Love'.  Jim is the one in the middle with the wig.  

He was always so friendly, kind and calm and always smiling.  Of that group he was probably the healthiest and fittest - went to the gym every day, walked miles every day during lockdown.  And a rugby supporter. He'd have been watching the 6 Nations.  And now he's gone, not long before his 76th birthday.  He's the first one of our group to die and knowing the health issues of some of the others I never thought it would be him.  

Tonight I'm here on my own thinking of the rest of our group C & L, Y & G, A & N, K & D and of course his wife K and C his daughter.  We are all so sad. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.