The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Rain, flowers and Kabuli Pulao

Mostly rain, but I was in the office!. The flowers are part of my breakfast table set up. I was given hyacinths for my birthday, and we had some already. I love the aroma, and the colours are superb. 

As for the Kabuli Pulao, S's new flatmate arrived today. He is also an Afghani refugee. GARAS, the Gloucestershire association for Refugees and Asylum Seekers, really made him welcome, and even brought Kabuli Pulao, an Afghani national dish, for the two men to share for lunch. As it was freshly made, I asked S where they'd got it. 'I expect they asked an Afghani family to make it' he replied. D'uh! Why didn't I think of that?   I'm glad that he was given a good reception, and I hope the two will get on well  together. They'll be able to talk Dari or Farsi together, and I expectb that the new guy will soon start working or volunteering. His English seems exceptionally good.

Anyway, I got to try the Kabuli.Pulao (rice, raisins, lamb, soices) because S invited me for supper. He'd already cooked something else as well. 

Afterwards I walked home with S's umbrella, and listened to another episode of trauma training. It's very good, and leading to many fertile thoughts at work. Talking of fertile, the manager came in today with her baby girl. We all had a shot of holding her. What a lovely, calm little baby she is! The manager is off for another few months, but she likes to come in and show us her child, and of course we love to cuddle her! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.