carliewired

By carliewired

62 F/ 17 C

A little bit of
an oasis here just for
painters in the sand

~carliewired

Our plein air group had a planned meet-up for 10 AM at the Conservation Garden. At 8 AM it didn't look very hopeful as the sky was grey and it looked like there could be some rain. I headed out the door at 9:30 with some sun and blue sky just appearing.

 The Conservation Garden occupies the southwest corner of the Yuma Fair Grounds right on busy 32nd Street. The Marine Air Base is across the street. Today, we had helicopters and jets taking off besides the rush of traffic on the four lane street. It is interesting, but not a restful place to paint. It has examples of all the desert plants and trees one might expect to find. Also, it is a resting place for farm equipment and vehicles, all in a rusty state. 

We traipsed in with our equipment and all made for the duck pond on the south edge. We had a brisk wind to contend with today. I made it about one hour, then the temperature and wind got to me. I still have my cough and I'm not 100 % yet. I promised to stay down wind of the other painters this morning. I got most of a pencil sketch completed before I headed for home. 

I'm in for the day now and probably will nap and drink kombucha. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.