carliewired

By carliewired

67 F/ 19 C

The early hours just
before sunrise are always
a challenge for me

~carliewired

I was at the grocery store at 6 AM getting my Valentine's Day list taken care of. My neighbour has his birthday today. D would always get him a case of beer and a bag of treats for this dog. I've tried to keep this habit. 

By the time I'd unloaded the few groceries it was still rather dark.  I decided I'd take my camera out to the east of me to see if I could catch the light coming up behind the Gila Mountains. I made two stops to take photos of Telegraph Pass. This was named for the telegraph line that ran from San Diego, California to Maricopa Wells, Arizona back in the 1800s. Today, it is crested with communication towers that blink in the dark. I wasn't able to capture the true colour in the sky. 

I thought I could drive over to 40th Street to see if I could get a sunrise shot of the windmill at the cactus nursery. I've caught this at sunset, but I've not tried a morning shot. As I drove along a car in front of me pulled over and a fellow got out of the car and sat his camera on the car roof. I had found a kindred spirit! 

I drove a little further, turned around and parked in front of this fellow. He was already focusing on his shot. As I got out of my car we both shared a laugh that we were there for the same shot. I had a brief chat with the young fellow who'd recently arrived from South Dakota. He was discovering the desert for himself and was enjoying it all.

 I got my shot of the windmill with some lovely glow behind it. Then headed for home.

I will take my neighbour's birthday gifts over to his house before I put my head down for some more sleep. I'm home for the day. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.