There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

In Which There Is Lasagna!

Cooking is like love.
It should be entered into with abandon, or not at all.
~Harriet van Horne

When we were shopping on Monday, my husband found a great deal on ground beef and picked up a package of it. I decided it was time for homemade lasagna, so I also grabbed the couple of things I needed to make it: noodles, ricotta, and mozzarella. We already had sauce at home.

Wednesday's adventures included a trip to the Barrens, on the closed road by the shooting range. My husband jogged. I strolled around with my camera; photographed the bubbles and ice floating atop the winter puddles. It was cold and a bit windy, but sunny too. 

When we got home, exhausted and starving, it was lasagna time. My husband browned the ground beef with onions, green peppers, garlic, and a bit of olive oil. I then constructed us a massive lasagna, layer by layer, which you may see above. Each stage felt like a work of beauty.

There is a certain sense of accomplishment in making one's own food. We love lasagna but often settle for the frozen kind. Which tends to be higher in sodium than any of us really need. Fresh-made is better. We each had a piece, with butter bread and olives and hot peppers on the side. It was hot and cheesy and good.

As a person who worked in an Italian restaurant at an amusement park, I have often thought that today's pizza is grand, but if you eat it tomorrow, it might be even better. I love fresh lasagna but I enjoy it even more the next day, when all of the flavors have had a chance to mix together. Here's the really good news: we had all we wanted on this day, and there are seven pieces left for later!

Our soundtrack song for this hefty lasagna is Eric Carmen, with Hungry Eyes, from Dirty Dancing.

Dessert - peach crisp, pulled from the freezer and microwaved - was served several hours later. Alas, there was no August Pie ice cream to top it, but it was awesome anyway: peachy and sweet and even a bit tangy, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.