Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Good old Harry!

Well it's rained just about all day - again! Sorting books and photographs this morning, then off to the gym after lunch. Took the car this time - no point arriving in a sodden state. Had a chat with the staff about the possibility of some exercises actually being harmful - a difficult one. It was suggested that I lay off the rowing machine for a while as I think it's doing my back in!

When I returned I went round to a neighbour, the winner of the two trophies at the Photo Club last night. I returned his prints too and we had a good blether about the upcoming competition. He also happens to be the Membership Secretary of the Oban U3A, which I've just joined, so we chatted about the various groups and how interesting they might or might not be.

When I came home I found an email from the Camera Club which is hosting the inter club competition Although they'd asked if we were happy to enter 15 images this year, instead of the usual 12 - due to the smaller number of clubs participating - they'd forgotten to pass this on, so the other clubs had only selected twelve. So I've spent an hour going over the voting scores and the number of images entered by the various members in an attempt to remove three! Nightmare! 

Then I realised that I hadn't done a Blip today, so this is an emergency Blip, though a relevant one too. This picture is of Michael Palin's latest book, 'Great-Uncle Harry', published last September. To quote the blurb - "Great-Uncle Harry is an utterly compelling account of an ordinary man who led an extraordinary life. A blend of biography, history, travelogue and personal memoir this is Michael Palin at his very finest." - We requested it from the library and they've bought it, together with an Alexander McCall Smith book for Mrs M! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.