carliewired

By carliewired

72 F/ 22 C

A mix of legend
and fantasy - Who says that 
pigs can fly? Really?

~carliewired

I was out getting some groceries at 6 AM. The forecast said it was cloudy but I could count stars in all directions. I was home to make my coffee at 7, then decided I needed more sleep. 

After lunch I thought I could drive around to the frontage road to see what was happening with the "Trading Post". I've always been interested in their metal sculptures, the rusty and the shiny.  They are a curious collection of subjects. 

The business has undergone some significant changes recently. The cactus nursery at the back seems to be gone. All the sculptures and pottery have been scooted over to one side of the property with the other  half changing its name and fence line. It's not open Mondays and Tuesdays now, so I could walk around the front poking my camera through the fence. 

The green-faced sasquatch leering down from the gate posts does get one's attention. The likeness of the US Marine Corps War Memorial was unexpected. I'm not understanding where flying pigs feature in the folklore of America. I have to say the little green alien could look quite fetching beside the bougainvillea in my back yard......

It's another low energy day for me. I'm watching the world go by from my recliner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.