carliewired

By carliewired

73 F/ 23 C

It's a sunshiny,
blue sky day that will just have 
to do without me

~carliewired

I was sitting in my recliner with my coffee at 8:30. I think this is as good as it gets today. I thought I should bird in my backyard this morning as I don't even feel like getting dressed. 

I sat on the chair outside my backdoor and waited for the birds to show up. They were generous with their time this morning. 

The doves seem to be popping in and out of the orange tree. They are absolutely quiet about it, but it irritates my resident hummingbird. It comes out of the interior of the orange tree and buzzes up to them but is completely ignored. Back it goes into the tree with the conflict unresolved. 

My surprise this morning was a couple of yellow-headed warblers that showed up. I've not noticed them before. Also called verdin, they are permanent residents on the desert here. One shot shows a brownish mark at the bend of the wing. I was concerned it could be an injury, but a little research assured me that this chestnut patch was a normal marking. These two flitted around the backyard, chirping away happily. 

I think I will be specializing in naps today. Not much else will be accomplished. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.