Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An exciting day

I had cover for several hours today, so I had planned a day out. I woke to a dull, wet morning.

After a bit of sitting around grumpily, I decided to keep with my plan of a visit to Wallington Hall. The garden is terrific and they have a crocus lawn (see extra).

It was raining heavily when I arrived, so I sat in my car for a while. Then I decided that the main aim was to walk, so I braved the rain and walked.

I had my Sony with me and two lenses, but there was little incentive to unpack them. After a while, I had to pull them out and I started shooting.

I walked 2.7 miles, but it was slow as I enjoyed the garden.

I was home long enough to have a quick nap, make a speedy meal and then out to Hexham Mart for the Blackfaced sheep breeders annual judging. I have intended to go to the Mart for years and never made it.

The place was packed as you can see. Everyone is a judge, pitting their wits against the real judge. For each round you place the sheep in order of merit. You hand in your card and then the judge announces his decision.

At the end of the evening, someone will have the highest score.

The place was full of families. Nearly all the children took part. I think some of their school teachers would be amazed at how seriously they took this. I watched as they discussed the merits of the sheep with each other!

When I arrived, I was embarrassed to find that there was an entrance fee and it was cash only! (Typical farmers of course.) I blagged my way in, mainly because a queue was forming behind me!!

Everyone was very friendly and the young people on either side explained the proceedings.

I was home by 9. The final rounds were still going on, then a raffle and then a feast! Probably too late for me to eat, even if I could have stayed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.