Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bright

Usually the male House Finches are trimmed in red but lately I've noticed this "orange morph" in with the regular flock at the feeders.  I've been biding my time, waiting to get the right show and I think this one is it.  It really shows the orange shading to yellow in his plumage.  Yellow and orange morph house finches are uncommon in our part of the country although they occur more frequently in other places.  The color variation is caused by diet apparently.  Anyway, he's quite a handsome fellow.

Hubs and I took a break at lunch at took Jax for a walk - good for all of us.  We ran into one of our neighbors while we were walking and he shared the sad news that his 10 1/2 year old harlequin Great Dane, Louie, died last week.  That is a grand age for a Dane, but Louie always seemed like he was so young and would live forever.  Jax always loved seeing him and would dance all around wanting to play in spite of the huge size difference (60 pounds versus 130).  Anyway, it was sad to hear even though I know Louie had a long life filled with love.  

I succumbed to a nap this afternoon, with Jax curled up beside me and Phoebe ensconced in my lap and a fire roaring in the fireplace.  Decadent, but just what my body was wanting.  I also spent some time outside in the hide although it was quite chilly and my feet got very cold.  I was planning to head back into town and try my luck again with gulls in flight but then the sun came out and that idea quickly went to the bin.  Maybe tomorrow if it ends up being overcast.

We watched a wonderful movie last night called "Woman in Gold" with Helen Mirren.  It is the true story of Holocaust survivor and what she went through to get some priceless artwork that had been stolen by the Nazis back from Austria.  Really worth watching as it is well acted and the story is very heartwarming.  Available on Netflix.  
  
Dark with peppermint today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.