Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day of huge contrasts

For the past two days my hip has been very sore and I have been limping a lot. In retrospect, I think I may have overdone the walking at the weekend, although I was pain free at the time.

I had a routine physio appointment this morning. The physio spent a lot of time listening and examining me. She says that my glutes are very weak and need building up. My hamstrings are trying to take over some of the work and the insertion of the left hamstring into the pelvic bone is the source of a lot of pain.

It felt positive that there is a way to improve things, but the timescale was disappointing. My idea was to try an easy stile last week. Her idea is that I cut the distance and walk on the flat.

The post had arrived in my absence, bringing me a t-shirt from Wild Rambling. It is a small walking company run by Helen Venus. We met when she was guiding a walking holiday in Bulgaria about 12 years ago and have been friends since. I’ve been on a few holidays she has organised. We always have a blast.

The gorgeous logo is across the back of the shirt so I have draped it across myself and taken a selfie. I’m due to walk with Helen in August and now I wonder if that will happen.

I’m not giving up yet!!

I made it to choir and enjoyed it.

Tonight was another contrast. Have any of you seen Hamlet, the film, with Ian McKellen? It was on at our cinema. I have seen a good number of performances of the play in my life. This one did not delight.

I found it choppy, disjointed and melodramatic. Having an 80 year old play Hamlet did not work for me. In the recorded Q&A Ian McK did say that it could work better with your eyes closed….
I won’t go on, but it was not to my taste!

I hope for a good night’s sleep and no pain on waking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.