Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Lovely old books!

A wet and dreary day today. Getting on with indoor stuff, in particular going through the books left to me by my Great-aunt Emily after her death in 1990. Many of them are in boxes waiting to find somewhere to take them, but those that I decided to keep I've been entering on my book database - yes, I am a database geek!

Among them is a Complete Works of Shakespeare in wonderful condition. I'm not sure which edition it is, but she has signed the flyleaf and dated it 1910. I don't think she was a great fan of the Bard! Incidentally, do you know why Shakespeare was known as The Bard? Because he was barred from every public house and betting shop in Stratford! OK, the oldies are the goodies! This book is my extra today.

Today's Blip is of a book which belonged to my paternal grandmother. Her name was Katie King, so the friends who gave her the book as a child must have liked the close similarity of the names. It's a Very Nice Book for Very Nice Children, Well-to-do and Well brought up, and all about God. It doesn't have a publishing date, but research on the Net suggests either 1861 or 1874. Unlike the Shakespeare, this one has been Very Well Read, and is falling apart!

It's been drizzling most of the day, but later in the afternoon I went out for a quick walk around the houses just to get some exercise and fresh air. Photo Club committee meeting tonight followed by the results of the Argyll Trophy - Four Seasons in Argyll.  A pity that the pop group of that named hadn't performed in Argyll back in the day - it would have at least raised a laugh to enter a photograph of them outside the Corran Halls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.