Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The First of the Year

First bug photo, that is.  After spending a good part of the morning on the phone and online sorting out my flights for SA, I went out to the garden to clean up a few things.  I usually leave my garden very messy until spring and this illustrates rather well why an untidy garden can be good.  Dried and dead vegetation makes a perfect hibernation spot for a myriad of insects and spiders, as seen here with these two little Asian multi-spotted lady beetles.  They were all the way at the base of some mums that I'd left in their pots outside.  When I snipped the dried leaves and flowers off, I found these two little creatures all cozied up.  I tucked the pot back under the edge of the deck and left them alone.  

As noted above, I now have myself rebooked in business class for the Johannesburg/Durban legs of my trip where I can-pre board, and hand carry two pieces of luggage.  With the exchange rate, the fare ended up being quite inexpensive so I feel good about it.  I also changed my hotel in JNB as I was concerned about safety.  I now have a highly rated hotel that will have a driver meet me in the airport to transport me to the hotel.  That's a relief since I won't get through customs until probably 8ish in the evening.  

We have an appointment take Phoebe to the vet this evening for blood work, pain injection and overall wellness check.  She's been doing well and we think she has put on a little weight, which she needed, but it will be good to get it all checked out.  Always such a difficult time when our beloved pets start to slow down and show signs of aging.  And a fine balance for us to make sure we are setting the needs and comfort of our pet above our desire to have them live forever.  

Overall, a productive day and I've rewarded myself with some dark chocolate.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.