An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

In the ink...

Lovely sunny day here today but very cold.  

I ventured out for a chat with N, our fabulous garden maintenance man, who was replacing some of the decking in the side garden that had come loose and broken, but didn't linger long as I had seen the sunshine and misjudged the temperature.  

Whilst enjoying a chicken sandwich for lunch there was a sudden crunch....hmmmm, that's not right I thought, and my tongue automatically probed an upper left molar that I've been nursing for years as it slowly crumbles.  My instinc was correct, the front face of the tooth had crumbled.  There's now basically a tiny piece of tooth left and a chunk of filling.  The tooth still has its nerve so worried if the filling falls out, I will be in a lot of pain. Call to the dentist first thing tomorrow morning in the hope of getting an emergency appointment.  

My plan had been to spend the afternoon in the studio and make a start on Agnes's painting, but that plan went out the window when in my search for the right size sheet of watercolour paper,  I found the pad of synthetic waterproof paper that I bought a couple of years ago to use with alcohol inks    Couldn't resist having a play with that.

Unfortunately there was a slight problem...I couldn't find any of my alcohol inks!  All my art materials are either in a free standing trolley beside my desk, or in trays on the table beside my desk.  My acrylic inks and India inks are all there, but no alcohol inks.  The isopropyl is there, as are the needle top bottles and the hand pump air blower.  

Hmmmm....I have a very vague memory of putting them all together in a storage bag but where have I put the storage bag?  The search shall be resumed tomorrow when D is here to reach shelves that are too high for me :-)

Despite not having my first choice of materials to hand, I compromised and used acrylic ink instead.  I was interested in seeing what kind of textures I could create on the waterproof paper.  I had good fun but forgot the first rule of playing with ink....wear protective gloves!  By the end my hands looked like a toddler's who'd been finger painting! :-)) 

Watched an episode of Escape to the Country this evening and the couple were relocating to Lincolnshire from D's home town of Kirkintilloch.  Funny to see it mentioned. 

Got some more squares completed for the cuddle blanket wedding pressie.  Need to focus though and spend a significant amount of time getting on with it.  Time is passing very quickly! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.